Home »  News »  India

Voting underway in Rajasthan

Thursday, 17 April 2014 - 9:46am IST | Place: Jaipur | Agency: PTI

  • Voting underway in Rajasthan

Polling was today underway in 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Rajasthan where over 3.48 crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 239 candidates.

Voters were seen lined up outside many polling booths in the state as voting began at 7 AM.

The state will have two-phase polling for 25 seats, of which 20 LS constituencies are going to polls today, while the remaining five will go for polls in the second phase on April 24.

The 20 LS constituencies going to polls are Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Ajmer, Nagaur, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran.

As many as 38,835 polling booths have been set up these 20 constituencies. There are 17 women contestants in the fray of these, six are from Congress, including three sitting MPs and one from BJP.

The three sitting women MPs include Girija Vyas from Chittorgarh, Jyoti Mirdha from Nagaur, Chandresh Katoch from Jodhpur while the new faces are Raj Bala Ola from Jhunjhunu, Munni Devi from Pali, and Reshma Malviya from Banswara.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content