Home »  News »  India

Vote share throws contrary pictures, 3rd largest BSP gets no seats

Saturday, 17 May 2014 - 6:12pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: PTI

  • dna Research & Archives

While BJP's countrywide vote share shot up by over 12 % at the expense of other parties, the chart throws some contrary pictures as parties like BSP got no seat in spite of third-highest vote share, but TMC and AIADMK clinched over 30 seats each with less than 4 % vote share.

An analysis of vote share data between Lok Sabha polls of 2014 and 2009 shows that BJP's vote share at national level has gone up to 31 % from less than 19 % during last elections. During the same period, Congress' vote share has dipped to nearly 19 % from over 28 %.

On the other hand, BSP's nationwide vote share has declined from over 6 % to 4.1 % and still remains third largest party in terms of vote share after BJP and Congress.

Within UP, BSP has got nearly 20 % votes -- third largest after BJP (42.3 %) and Samajwadi Party (22.2 %) -- although it has failed to win a single seat.
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has interestingly come third with 4.1 % vote share or 2.3 crore votes, but it has no seat in its kitty. Its candidates came second on 34 seats.

Samajwadi Party is also not far behind with 3.4 % vote share, although Mulayam Singh Yadav-led party could manage to win only five seats.

BJP has got 71 seats and its ally Apna Dal has got two seats, while SP has won 5 seats. Congress has won two seats (Sonia and Rahul Gandhi from Rae Bareli and Amethi respectively), while its vote share now stands at 7.5 %.

In Bihar, Janta Dal United has seen a sharp decline in vote share to 16 %, while it could win only two seats.

Even among those having won some seats the number of seats is not in proportion with their respective vote shares.

Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) has got 34 seats with about 3.8 % vote share.

The number of seats won by AIADMK is even larger at 37, although vote share stands at 3.3 %. At the same time, CPI(M) with a similar 3.3 % vote share has managed to win just nine seats.

Biju Janta Dal, the fifth largest party in terms of seats after BJP, Congress, AIADMK and TMC, has got 20 seats although it stands much lower on the vote share tally at 14th position with 1.7 % share.

DMK has also got 1.7 % vote share, but has no seats to show in its kitty. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content