Home »  News »  India

Twitter mourns death of Delhi gang-rape victim

Saturday, 29 December 2012 - 12:30pm IST
Politicians, industrialists and citizens mourn the death of the Delhi girl on Twitter, whose gang-rape aboard a bus in New Delhi spawned mass protests across the country.

Politicians, industrialists and citizens mourn the death of the Delhi girl on Twitter, whose gang-rape aboard a bus in New Delhi spawned mass protests across the country.

Manmohan Singh @PMOIndia: I pray for the peace of the departed soul and hope that her family will have the strength to bear this grievous loss. While she may have lost her battle for life, it is up to us all to ensure that her death will not have been in vain. I join the nation in conveying to her family and friends my deepest condolences at this terrible loss

Amitabh Bachchan @SrBachchan: 'Amanat', 'Damini' just a name now .. her body has passed away, but her soul shall shall forever stir our hearts!!!

Shashi Tharoor @shashitharoor: Deeply saddened by the passing of our brave sister in Singapore. She waged a courageous battle for life&galvanized a cause that will not die.

Sushma Swaraj @sushmaswarajbjp: Her death has shaken the conscience of the nation. We must wake up and make India safe for daughters.

Narendra Modi @NarendraModi: Deeply saddened & distressed by the news of India's braveheart daughter passing away. My deepest condolences with her family.

Anand Mahindra @anandmahindra: Today I resolve to bave no resolutions other than to light a candle&unite in grief with her family--silently.There will be time for action.

Kiran Bedi @thekiranbedi: Let this sacrifice day b called NIRBHAY DAY where all cops led by their seniors RESOLVE that no complaint from any woman will go unattended!

Anupam Kher @anupamPKher: This is NOT the time to shut down Metros, India Gate or India. This is the time to Apologise,Say SORRY for letting People down.

Arvind Kejriwal @arvindkejriwal7: Aren't we all responsible for her death? Can we all now do something so that half of humanity starts feeling safe amongst us?

Reactions from citizens...

 

Matthew Ward ‏@HistoryNeedsYou: Listen to the women of India: Don't stop your daughter from going out. Teach your son how to behave. #Delhigangrape

Tinu Cherian Abraham ‏@tinucherian: #DelhiGangRape victim dies in Singapore. We will outrage again. Rapes will still continue thru out the nation. We will forget & "move on" :(

Paresh G ‏@pareshg: The phrase ‘What was she wearing?’ is for cocktail parties & sarcasm, not rape enablement. Shame on any man who asks that in any rape case.

Mona Eltahawy ‏@monaeltahawy: There are crimes: beating to death of Khaled Said, Egypt; Newtown massacre, US; Delhi gang rape, India that are turning points.We must learn

Shreeya Sinha ‏@shreeyasinha: India recorded 24,000 cases of rape last year, a figure that has increased by 25% in the past six years.

Angry Brown Girl ‏@AngryBrownGirl: I am saddened beyond words at our #Delhi sister's fate. I'm ANGRY. It's time to take back our rights as women, as citizens of this world.

Tweets from our news team:

Colleen Braganza ‏@ColleenBraganza: Women shld boycott Republic Day parade. A country that can't protect its women has no business showing off its military might #Delhigangrape

Saikat Datta ‏@saikatd: Time to ask why the politicians displaying rank misogyny & sexist attitudes are not thrown out by their political parties. #Delhigangrape

@boskigupta: Silent marches. Silent protests. Time to break the silence. #India #R.I.P.

Mayank Aggarwal ‏@journomayank: Wish 50% Indians, all women, come together n vote only 4 someone whose party respects women n punsih those disrespecting them.

Ashutosh Kumar ‏@The_AK_84: #DelhiGangrape Phasi demands fill the air at Jantar Mantar

Roxy Gagdekar ‏@roxygagdekar: the only fault of the girl is that she trusted the system of this country and believed that she is safe in this country.

Kanika Sikka ‏@KanikaSikka: #DekliGangRape: Home Minister pledges to strengthen laws? Why is it that an innocent life had to be sacrificed for this?http://dnai.in/ba2E 




Jump to comments