Home »  News »  India

Ten candidates to look out for in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections

Wednesday, 16 April 2014 - 5:34pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: dna webdesk

With the fifth phase of elections starting Thursday, we took a look at the top ten candidates contesting the elections tomorrow and give you a quick take on all that you need to know about them! 

Nandan Nilekani - Nandan Nilekani was the Co-founder of Infosys the Indian IT major before moving to work with the Government on its Aadhar Program and was the head of UIDAI.  In March 2014, he quit the UIDAI and joined the Indian National Congress and declared that he would the contest 2014 Lok-Sabha elections from the Bangalore South constituency.

Ashok Chavan- Ashok Shankarrao Chavan  was earlier the Chief Minister of Maharashtra before he was forced to resign after being allegedly involved in the Adarsh Scam.  He has also served as Minister for Cultural Affairs, Industries, Mines and Protocol in the Maharashtra government. He is contesting the Lok Sabha elections on a Congress ticket from Nanded. 

Supriya Sule-  Supriya Sule is the daughter of  Sharad Pawar and a senior leader of the Nationalist Congress Party. In 2009 she won the Lok Sabha seat from Baramati, which was earlier represented by her father. She was alledged to have a stake in an IPL team during the IPL controversy that broke out, but she refuted all allegations. The Baramati is considered a safe seat for her. 

Baijayant Panda- Baijayant "Jay" Panda is currently a Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha representing Kendrapara constituency. He was previously  elected to the Rajya Sabha, from 2000 to 2009. Contesting against him is Bishnu Prasad Das from the BJP and Dharanidhar Nayak from the Congress.

BS Yeddyurappa-  BS Yeddyurappa was the 19th Chief Minister of Karnataka,and was the an important leader of the BJP until he left the party based on allegations of corruption.  He was instrumental in winning for the BJP its first southern state. His re-entry into the BJP has been an issue of contention with opposition parties continuing to target him over those corruption allegations.


Veerapa Moily - Veerappa Moily is the current Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and has earlier served as the Minister of Corporate Affairs and Minister of Power with the UPA.  He is also currently serving as the All India Congress Committee General Secretary in charge of Andhra Pradesh. He is contesting the Lok Sabha 2014 elections against the JD(S)’ HD Kumaraswamy.

Sushilkumar Shinde - Sushilkumar Sambhajirao Shinde is the current Minister of Home Affairs in the UPA government. He previously served as the Chief Minister of the state of Maharashtra for a year. He is also the Leader of the house in Lok Sabha. In the past Shinde has made several gaffes including mentioning the name of a rape victim. His latest gaffe was when he threatened to “crush” social media at a public event. 

HD Deve Gowda -  Deve Gowda was the 11th Prime Minister of India and the 14th Chief minister of the state of Karnataka. An influential leader of the Vokkaliga community  and is popularly known as "Mannina maga". He heads the Janata Dal (S) party and is quite famous for dozing off to slepe publicly. He has been pictured dozing off to sleep even in Parliament. 

Nilesh Rane- Nilesh Rane is an incumbent  member of the Lok Sabha of India and represents the Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituency of Maharashtra.  He is also a member of the Committee on Home Affairs and the Rules Committee of the government.  He is the son of Narayan Rane

Sriramalu - Sriramulu is contesting the Lok Sabha 2014 elections on a BJP ticket. His induction into the BJP was controversial, as many within in the BJP most notably Sushma Swaraj, publically mentioned their disapproval. He is known to be a close confidante of the Bellary brothers


Jump to comments

Recommended Content