Home »  News »  India

Sumitra Mahajan set to become 16th Speaker of Lok Sabha

Thursday, 5 June 2014 - 5:00am IST Updated: Thursday, 5 June 2014 - 5:30am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: Zee Research Group

  • dna Research & Archives

As Sumitra Mahajan, an eight-time BJP Member of Parliament from Indore is tipped to become the next Lok Sabha Speaker many records are set to break. Apart from being the first person from BJP to take the charge, she will also be the first person from Madhya Pradesh to become the Speaker of the House. 

A Zee Research Group (ZRG) study of all Lok Speakers so far provides some interesting results. As per the study, Mahajan will be the 16th person to hold the position in the 16th Lok Sabha. However, so far 20 Speakers have been elected and Mahajan will be the 21st on the list. She will be the second woman ever to handle the responsibility. In 2009, Meira Kumar of Congress created history, when she was unanimously elected as the first female Speaker of the House. 

There are five MPs’ who have been chosen twice each for the post of Speaker of Lok Sabha. The list includes: M. Ananthasayanam Ayyangar, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, G.S. Dhillon, Bal Ram Jakhar and G.M.C. Balayogi. 

Whilst Mahajan will be first ever person from saffron party to become the Speaker of the House, Congress has so far got hold of the position maximum 10 times. Janata Party followed Congress with two members becoming the Speaker of the House. Janata Dal, Shiv Sena, TDP and CPI (M) also have got Speaker post once each so far. 

In terms of states, three persons each from Andhra Pradesh and Punjab have been chosen for the position. Two Speakers each have been elected from Maharashtra and Bihar. Furthermore, one each MP from Karnataka, Meghalaya, Odisha, Rajasthan and West Bengal, got the charge of the office of Speaker. 

Interestingly, Mahajan at 71 will be the second oldest MP to take the charge. Somnath Chatterjee so far is the oldest person to become the speaker. In 2004, when he took the charge from Manohar Joshi, he was 74 years old. On the other hand, G.M.C. Balayogi is the youngest person to hold the position of Lok Sabha speaker. In 1998, when he held the position he was 46 years old. 
With the entry of Mahajan, the average age of Lok Sabha speakers so far which stands at 59.10 will increase to 59.66. 

The election of the new speaker will be held on Friday. If elected, Mahajan will take over the reins from Meira Kumar, who presided over the House for the last five years. 

Mahajan has never lost the Lok Sabha elections since 1989 and was elected from Indore for the eighth time in the just-held polls by a margin of 4.67 lakh votes.

She was a Minister of State in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government from 1999 to 2004. In 2014, she scripted history after winning the seat for the eighth time in a row. Mahajan is the only female leader to have won eight Lok Sabha polls in successively beating incumbent West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who was chosen as MP for seven times.


Jump to comments

Recommended Content