Home »  News »  India

Sonia Gandhi, LK Advani, Lalu Prasad Yadav among silent MPs in 15th Lok Sabha

Sunday, 23 February 2014 - 10:00am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

Parliamentarians shed a lot of tears for the time that got wasted due to disruptions but many — including senior and first-time MPs — didn't ask even a single question during the entire 15th Lok Sabha.

The MPs, who asked "zero" questions during their five years in the Lok Sabha are from across the political spectrum. There were at least 36 senior MPs including, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Bharatiya Janata Party's LK Advani, Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, who didn't ask even a single question during their terms. Samajwadi Party's first family — party president Mulayam Singh Yadav, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and his wife Dimple — too stayed mum throughout. The list, drawn from data provided by PRS Legislative Research, also includes BJP's Jaswant Singh and former prime minister HD Devegowda of Janata Dal (Secular).

Congress MPs whose names figure in the list are party's vice president Rahul Gandhi, Abdul Mannan Hossain, Bapi Raju Kanumuri, Biren Singh Engti, Dip Gogoi, Raja Ram Pal, Sabbam Hari. BJP's Ramakant Yadav, Solanki Dinubhai Boghabhal and Devidhan Besra also didn't have any questions to ask.

Among the women MPs who didn't ask any questions, apart from Sonia Gandhi and Dimple Yadav, were Ramya Divya Spandana, Telangana Rashtra Samitis' M Vijaya Shanthi and Trinamool Congress' Satabdi Roy. The list also includes several first-time MPs such as TRS' Vijaya Shanthi and Congress' Ismail Hussain and Ramesh Kumar.

Leaders of other parties who figured in the list are independent MPs Digvijay Singh (from Bihar), Kalyan Singh (from UP), Haryana Janhit Congress's Bhajan Lal, TRS' Chandrasekhar Kalva Kuntla, Babulal Marandi of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Baju Ban Riyan of CPI(M), HD Kumaraswamy of JD(S), Trinamool Congress's Kalyan Banerjee, Prasun Banerjee, Subrata Bakshi, Tapas Paul, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha Shibu Soren and YSR Congress's YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content