Home »  News »  India

Seven women in Narendra Modi Cabinet

Monday, 26 May 2014 - 10:01pm IST | Agency: PTI

There are seven women ministers including six with Cabinet rank in the 45-member Council of Ministers headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

While Sushma Swaraj; Uma Bharti; Najma Heptulla, the lone Muslim face; Maneka Gandhi; Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Smriti Zubin Irani have been made Cabinet ministers, party spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman has been made Minister of State (Independent Charge).

When the UPA government was sworn-in, there were 80 ministers including nine women.

Incidentally, both the youngest and the oldest members in the Modi cabinet also happens to be women -Smriti and Najma.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content