Home »  News »  India

Seven quirky political parties in India. List includes Indian Lover's Party, Gareeb Aadmi Party

Saturday, 12 April 2014 - 5:35pm IST | Agency: dna webdesk

With election fever gripping the nation, we bring to you a list of eight offbeat political parties in India. Some of them may not have weird names but certainly have some very unusual symbols.

Aazadi Ka Antim Aandolan Dal

Aazadi Ka Antim Aandolan Dal was started to protect the sovereignty of the country. This organisation aims to bring the politically non-inclined people into politics. It also aims to give unemployed, young,men, women, farmers, traders an active share and participation in administration at the local, state and national levels, thus enriching their lives. The Dal believes that foreign companies, which are entering India in large numbers, want to weaken the Indian socio-economic fabric by making the country a market for their goods and services. The organisation aims to empower the country and its citizens and strives to fight against economic dependence on America and incursions by China, to provide India her own place of respect and pride in the world.

Autonomous State Demand Committee

Autonomous State Demand Committee (ASDC), originally the People's Democratic Front, was set up as a mass organisation of the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Liberation in order to fight for giving Karbi Anglong region in Assam a separate statehood. Karbi Anglong district is the largest among the 27 administrative districts of Assam. Autonomous State Demand Committee won several elections to the Lok Sabha and the district council. Dr. Jayanta Rongpi got elected as an ASDC candidate in the Lok Sabha elections from the Karbi Anglong region in 1991,1996 and 1998. Later a split occurred in ASDC, with one section ASDC (United) splitting away from CPI (ML), and aligning with the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). Below is their election symbol, we wonder what it stands for...

Gareeb Aadmi Party

Gareeb Aadmi Party is a fragment outfit of the Aam Aadmi Party. Most of the people who are now members of the Gareeb Aadmi Party have been together since the days of India Against Corruption (IAC) in 2011. They were part of the anti-corruption movement and participated in the rally alongside Anna Hazare at various places like Jantar Mantar, Ramlila Maidan, India Gate, etc. Shyam Bhartiya is the founder of the Gareeb Aadmi Party. It has its head office at Mohan Garden in New Delhi. The political affairs committee of the GAP includes Mrityunjay Jaiswal, an astrologer by profession, Kadambini Pathak, Ajeet Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Ravinder Singh, Sanjay Kumar, Akhilesh Kumar Shukla and Prashant Pathak. The manifesto of the party mentions promises like digital currency, identity for every citizen of India in the form of aadhar cards and bank accounts for all, eradicating poverty, giving better education and employment opportunities, security for women, electricity and water facilities, better health and infrastructure, etc.

Rashtriya Aam Party

The most recent addition is the Rashtriya Aam Party launched on March 28, 2014 by actress Rakhi Sawant. The Bollywood drama queen, who is contesting from Mumbai North-West constituency for the Lok Sabha elections 2014, is seeking green chilly as the symbol for her party. According to Sawant, the Vice-President of the party, green chilly "represents her persona" and so she wants it as her party symbol. A fan of the BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, Rakhi said she is leaving the film industry and entering politics to serve the common man and fight for women's honour and security. Rashtriya Aam Party's office bearers and fundraisers are local businessmen from Oshiwara in Mumbai.

Indian Lover's Party

The founder president of Indian Lover's Party is B. Kumar Sri Sri. Indian Lover's Party aims at supporting lovers in their struggle against society. Its objective is to "heal the wounds inflicted by the society to lovers". And, aptly so, their symbol is a Taj Mahal in a heart with an arrow through it. The principle of the party is to "eradicate poverty, hunger, famine, starvation, atrocities against women, terrorism, murder, looting, corruption, price-rise and other problems in India". The "revolutionary leader of lovers", Kumar Sri Sri, talking about the party members, says, "By virtue of love marriage, these lovers have managed to free our country from the evils of caste or religious differences, dowry, untouchability, women-exploitation and child marriages. They are now leading a life based on equality without any differences based on wealth, language, colour or education".

Indian Oceanic Party
Started in 2010, the Indian Oceanic Party was created by CP Vyas who is now the national president of the Party. The slogan of Indian Oceanic Party(IOP) says 'Majboor nahi Majboot Bano, Sacchai ka Saboot Bano'. The head office of IOP is situated at New Delhi. According to the official blogging site of the IOP, the ideology behind the creation of this party is to make the nation proud and its primary agenda is development of the youth because youth is the future of the country. The president, CP Vyas worked as an IAS officer but resigned due to the "Political Corrupt System". According to him, "when youth of India is united under one umbrella, then India will be free from all types of problems". Below is their election symbol:

Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy
Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy (Association for Defense of Democracy) is a political party in Kerala. The party was formed in 1994 when the CPI(M) leader KR Gowri Amma was expelled from Communist Party of India (Marxist). She was a prominent figure in the communist movement in Kerala. Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy (JSS) is a member of the United Democratic Front, the alliance in Kerala led by the Congress (I). JSS won four seats in the 2001 Legislative Assembly elections in Kerala. KR Gowri Amma was the minister for agriculture in the AK Antony state government. Currently, KR Gowri  Amma is the general secretary of the party, AN Rajanbabu is the state president and Adv. Sathjith VH, NN Sadanandan are the state secretaries of the party. Their party symbol is a bus.


Jump to comments

Recommended Content