Home » India

RJD candidate, Independent elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Friday, 31 January 2014 - 6:24pm IST | Agency: IANS

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidate Prem Kumar Gupta and Independent candidate Parimal Nathwani have been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Jharkhand.

Friday was the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

The state's ruling party, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), had earlier announced it would field Savita Mahto, widow of former deputy chief minister and senior party leader Sudhir Mahto. However, at the last moment JMM decided to support the RJD candidate.

The RJD had threatened to withdraw support to the Hemant Soren government if the party did not get JMM support in the Rajya Sabha polls.

Nathwani filed his nomination papers as an Independent and was supported by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU).

Nathwani was the sitting Rajya Sabha MP from Jharkhand.

Jump to comments

Around the web