Home »  News »  India

President's rule in Jharkhand for second time in two years

Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 5:30pm IST Updated: Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 7:07pm IST | Place: Ranchi | Agency: PTI

It would be the second time in two years that Jharkhand would be brought under the central rule after president Pratibha Patil accepts the recommendation of the Union cabinet.

Jharkhand today came under Central rule with President Pratibha Patil accepting a recommendation of the Union Cabinet after Congress and BJP gave up efforts to form an alternative government following resignation of chief minister Shibu Soren.

The state Assembly will be kept in suspended animation during President's rule, which has been imposed for a second time in two years, a Rashtrapati Bhavan official said.

A meeting of the Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, had this morning recommended to the President imposition of Central rule on the basis of the report of Jharkhand Governor MOH Farooq to the Centre yesterday.

Farooq is understood to have recommended clamping of Central rule following his meeting leaders of major political parties in Ranchi. Congress and BJP had both indicated their inability to form an alternative government in the state.

The Soren government was reduced to a minority on May 24 when BJP, with 18 MLAs and JD(U) with two, withdrew support to it. The JMM, with 18 MLAs and having the support of seven other legislators, was short of the required 42 in the 82-member House.

The BJP took the decision after Soren voted against the cut motions sponsored by the opposition in Lok Sabha on April 27.

Congress, with a strength of 14, and its ally JVM(P) with 11 members, had said it did not have the numbers to stake claim to form a government

Jharkhand, which has seen seven chief ministers since its creation on November 15, 2000, came under President's rule for the first time on January 19, last year, which was extended by six months in July.

Central rule was then imposed as no party came forward for government formation after JMM chief Shibu Soren, who was in his second stint as chief minister, failed to enter the Assembly following his defeat in the Tamar bypoll.

The Assembly elections in October-November last year threw up a fractured mandate and Soren became the chief minister for a third time with the support of the NDA.

The political instability in the state has seen Arjun Munda heading two governments, Soren three and Babulal Marandi and Madhu Koda one each.

On the developments this time, BJP state general secretary Ganesh Mishra said in Ranchi, "We tried our best to avert President's Rule, but were unfortunately unsuccessful in our endeavour."

BJP spokesman Sanjay Seth said the state should not be kept under President's rule for long and people should be provided an opportunity to give their mandate at the earliest.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content