Home »  News »  India

Over 50% voting till 5pm; up from 46.55% in 2009

Monday, 12 May 2014 - 6:39pm IST | Agency: PTI

51.24% voting was recorded till 5pm in 18 seats of Eastern Uttar Pradesh.

The figure surpassed the 46.55% voting recorded in 2009 General Elections with one hour of polling still left.

The highest turnout was witnessed in Maharajganj where 54.40% voters cast their ballot while in high profile constituencies of Varanasi and Azamgarh the percentage of votes was 51.80 and 52.3 respectively.

As many as 328 candidates, including Narendra Modi from Varanasi and Mulayam Singh Yadav from Azamgarh are in the fray in this last leg of polling.

Over three crore voters including 1.42 crore women are participating in the last phase of the elections to decide the fate of these candidates at 19,881 polling centres spread across 14 districts of Eastern UP.

In Kushinagar where Minister of State for Home RPN Singh is contesting 52.80% votes have been cast and in Gorakhpur where BJP's Yogi Adityanath is in the fray 51.12% votes have been polled.

Domariyaganj recorded 50.60%, Maharajganj 54.40, Deoria 50.40, Bansgaon 48, Lalganj 52.50, Ghosi 50.86, Salempur 48.54, Ballia 50.74, Jaunpur 50.40, Machhlishahr 48.80, Ghazipur 50, Chandauli 55.2, Mirzapur 51.52 and Robertsganj 52.40% votes were cast, data from Election Commission said.

In Maharajganj's Baghapar village, villagers bycotted the election raising demand of roads. There are 974 voters in the area. The administration had to deploy PAC to ensure polling as villagers surrounded the polling station and prevented anyone from casting ballot.

In Phooralpur village also polls were bycotted as villagers demanded a railway crossing. Recently, 13 people had died here while crossing the railway track.

There were reports of technical snags in EVMs at some places which were rectified, the election commission said.

In Chandauli there was complaint that laptops used in the polling station bore the pictures of SP leaders, sources said, adding they have removed.

A report from Maharajganj said that there are reports of snag in polling machines in three polling stations of Nautenwa, Panera and Sadar and a village in Ballia was boycotting polling.
While maximum number of 42 candidates are in fray from Varanasi, minimum of 12 candidates are contesting from Bansgaon.

In 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Samajwadi Party had clinched six seats from the region, BSP five, BJP four and Congress had managed three seats.

Interestingly, BSP had registered marginal loss and ended up in the second place in 12 seats.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content