Home »  News »  India

Over 48% voter turn out in Rajasthan till 4pm

Thursday, 24 April 2014 - 5:04pm IST | Agency: PTI

Over 48% of 81 lakh electors cast their votes in 5 Lok Sabha constituencies where polling is underway in second and last phase in Rajasthan till 4 PM.

The five LS seats where polling is underway are: Dausa, Alwar, Karauli-Dholpur and Tonk- Sawaimadhopur, Bharatpur LS seats.

At 4 PM, Dausa recorded voters' turn out of 50% followed by Alwar recording 52, Bharatpur 45, Karauli-Dholpur 43 and Tonk Sawaimadhopur 49%.

Eighty one contestants, including two Union Ministers; Namonarayan Meena (MoS finance) from Dausa, Jitendra Singh (MoS-sports) from Alwar, and former cricketer Mohammed Azaharruddin from Tonk-Swaimadhopur are in the fray.

Total 9,112 polling booths, of which 2,674 declared as critical, are being guarded by 45,000 security personnel to ensure the free and fair poll, an election official said.

Polling in 20 of Rajasthan's 25 seats was held on April 17.

Barring one incident of clash between security forces and villagers in which five persons including four photo journalists were injured and vehicles were damaged after forces opened 14 rounds of fire at Satha village in Dausa district, the polling was underway peacefully, DGP-Law and Order Navdeep Singh said.

Forty-five thousands security personnels were on duty in the most sensitive 5 LS seats in the state, he added.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content