Home »  News »  India

New state of Telangana gets two Deputy Chief Ministers

Monday, 2 June 2014 - 7:55pm IST | Place: Hyderabad | Agency: PTI

  • new-state-of-telangana-gets-two-deputy-chief-ministers Telangana, the 29th state of India

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Monday appointed two Deputy Chief Ministers besides allocating portfolios.

Senior Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) leader Naini Narasimha Reddy has been made the Home Minister, while E Rajender has got the Finance ministry.

Along with Rao, 11 ministers were sworn in by Governor E S L Narasimhan today as Telangana, the 29th state of the country, came into existence.

Md Mahmood Ali and T Rajaiah were named as the Deputy Chief Ministers. Ali would handle revenue, while Rajaiah would handle medical and health department, an official release said.

Chandrasekhar Rao has retained the portfolios of SC, ST, BC, Minorities Welfare, Municipal Administration and Urban Development, Energy, Coal, General Administration and all the un-alloted portfolios, the release said

Rao's son K T Rama Rao has been given Panchayat Raj and IT, while Rao's nephew T Harish Rao would be the minister for Irrigation and Legislative Affairs.

Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, T Padma Rao Goud, P Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G Jagadish Reddy have been allocated Agriculture; Excise and Prohibition; Transport; Forest and Environment and Education, respectively. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content