Home »  News »  India

Narendra Modi tops list of most followed Indian politicians on Twitter

Tuesday, 8 April 2014 - 9:05am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

As the election fever grips the nation, social networking website, Twitter on Monday termed Narendra Modi as the most popular Indian politician followed by Shashi Tharoor and Arvind Kejriwal.

While Modi has three million followers, Tharoor and Kejriwal have two and one million followers respectively.

BJP leader Sushma Swaraj and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP's) candidate Gul Panag are the two women candidates on the top ten politicians list of Twitter. BJP's Smriti Irani follows is at the 15th spot.

Meenakashi Lekhi, Nirmala Sitharaman, Shazia Ilmi hold 18th, 29th and 32 positions respectively.

Other women politicians in the list are Vasundhara Raje, Priyanka Chaturvedi, Meera Sanyal, Kiron Kher and Priya Dutt.

Calling the elections as country's first Twitter election, Twitter said candidates, journalists and citizens have been using the Twitter platform extensively to discover election content, converse with others in real time and express their views.

According to Twitter, it has led to a massive surge in the election conversation on Twitter. "This activity has led to a surge in the election conversation on Twitter; in the last year alone, there has been a 600% increase in the volume of conversation in India around the 2014 elections. Based on our research, mentions of political parties and candidates alone have shot up by more than 10 times since the start of the year," Twitter said in a statement.

It also said Indian politicians are using Twitter like never before. Leaders are using the platform to communicate with their constituents, break news, shape discourse and influence opinion.

"Twitter has bridged the gap between a celebrity and a common man. There was no other way for a voter to reach out to his candidate. But now it has become very easy to communicate," Vishal Tripati, principal research analyst at Gartner told dna.

"The biggest advantage, Twitter has over other social networking websites is character limitation. With a limitation of 140 characters, Twitter forces users to be precise, so people think before they write," he added.

The top five list also consisted of prime minister Manmohan Singh and BJP leader Sushma Swaraj.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content