Home » India

Morality triumphs: Tainted leaders, kin sent packing

Monday, 9 December 2013 - 2:34pm IST | Place: Jaipur | Agency: DNA

More than issues like inflation and corruption, Congress party choosing to field the kin of its tainted leaders that dented its prospects. These leaders, irrespective of their status within and outside the party, were rejected by voters on moral grounds.

In Luni and Osian tickets were given to family members of Malkhan Singh Bishnoi and Mahipal Maderna, who are in the jail on charges of murder of ANM Bhanwari Devi. Despite having so much influence and political legacy, people rejected them completely and preferred the BJP. 

Both Amri Devi, mother of outgoing MLA Malkhan Singh and Leela Maderna wife of Mahipal Maderna lost the election by a margin of 35,000 and 15,000 votes respectively. Nagar family of Dudu too met the same fate after Babul Lal Nagar, the outgoing MLA and former state minister was booked by police after a high profile sex scandal. Party gave ticket to his brother Hazarai Lal Nagar but he lost the election to BJP’s Prem Chand by a margin of around 34,000. Results show that people rejected any sort of moral corruption and sidelined relatives of the tainted leaders.
Even leaders like Ram Lal Jat from Asind, Master Bhanwar Lal from Sujangarh and Bharosi Lal Jatav from Karauli and Udailal Anjana from Nimbahera who have been in the controversies for various reasons have lost the election.

More than 100 s facing various charges under IPC sections were in poll fray in the coming elections. While some were facing serious charges of murder, attempt to murder, extortion, cheating and forgery while many faced charges of moral corruption.

Leaders like Pawan Duggal, CPM  from Anupgarh lost the seat to BJP. Duggal is facing eight cases under 52 various sections of the IPC. Rajendra Gudha,  from Udaipurwati, faces several charges including those of attempt to murder, lost his seat to BJP’s Shubhkaran Chaudhary by a margin of over 10,000 votes. Other leaders facing various IPC sections include names like Shayopat Ram from Ganganagar and Ram Lal Meghwal from Jalore, who too were sidelined by the voters.

On the contrary many BJP leaders who were also sailing in the same boat were rescued by the Modi wave.

Jump to comments

Around the web