Home »  News »  India

Ministry of External Affairs releases list of SAARC leaders who will meet with Narendra Modi on Tuesday

Monday, 26 May 2014 - 1:49pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: ANI

  • modi-foreign Foreign dignitaries attending Narendra Modi's swearing in ceremony

A Ministry of External Affairs release has listed the schedule of all eight leaders of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) countries who will have one-on-one meetings on Tuesday with Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi.

Seven Heads of Government from SAARC countries are in Delhi to attend Modi's swearing-in ceremony which is set to take place at a grand function in the forecourt of the majestic Rashtrapati Bhawan on Monday evening.

Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai will make a courtesy call to Modi on Tuesday morning at 9.30 am, while his Maldivian counterpart Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom is likely to meet Modi at 10.05 am. Following him will be the Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa who will pay a courtesy call to Modi at 10.30 am in the morning. Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay is scheduled to meet Modi at 10.55 am, while his Mauritian counterpart Navin Ramgoolam will hold parleys with Modi at 11.20 am. Nepalese Prime Minister Sushil Koirala is set to meet Modi at 11.45 am.

All eyes would be on Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif who will hold meeting with Modi at 12.10 in the afternoon. Bangladesh Parliament Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will meet Modi at 12.45 .

After their courtesy calls, the Heads of Government of SAARC countries will meet President Pranab Mukherjee. Starting with Afghanistan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Bhutan. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content