Home » India

Manish Sisodia and Vinod Kumar Binny among probables for cabinet slots in Delhi

Monday, 23 December 2013 - 10:38pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

As Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal prepares to form the government, some of the names of the party leaders doing the round for cabinet berths are those of Manish Sisodia and Vinod Kumar Binny.

Sisodia, a trusted aide of Kejriwal, came to prominence during Anna Hazare's movement for Janlokpal Bill in 2011.

The 41-year-old journalist turned-actvist-turned- politician defeated BJP's Nakul Bhardwaj by over 11,000 votes from Patparganj constituency in East Delhi.

Vinod Kumar Binny, who defeated Delhi Health Minister A K Walia in Laxmi Nagar by a margin of around 8,000 votes, is also being tipped to get a berth in the cabinet.

The 40-year-old Delhi University graduate, Binny was a member of Congress from 2009 to 2011 but left it after joining the Jan Lokpal movement. He was also a corporator and is said to be inventor of the idea of AAP's 'Mohalla Sabha'.

Saurabh Bhardwaj, an engineering graduate who also studied law, is likely to be inducted in Kejriwal's cabinet.

The 34-year-old defeated Ajay Kumar Malhotra, son of veteran BJP leader V K Malhotra by a margin of around 13,000 votes from Greater Kailash constituency.

Former journalist 26-year-old Rakhi Birla is also in the list of probable ministers. Birla had defeated PWD Minister in the Sheila Dikshit government Raj Kumar Chauhan in Mangolpuri by around 10,500 votes. If inducted, she would be the youngest face in the cabinet.

Also in the race is MLA from Shalimar Bagh Bandana Kumari. The 39-year-old graduate had been fighting for the cause of poor women. She had defeated Ravinder Nath Bansal of BJP by over 10,000 votes.

The other probable is Somnath Bharti from Malviya Nagar. He holds a Masters degrees from IIT, Delhi, and a degree of Law. The 39-year-old has defeated BJP's Arti Mehra and another Delhi government minister Kiran Walia.

And there is Jarnail Singh, a Class 12th pass out and owner of a water purifier company, who defeated Rajiv Babber of BJP from Tilak Nagar in west Delhi by 2,000 votes.

Jump to comments

Around the web