Home »  News »  India

Lone Telangana Rashtra Samiti member in Rajya Sabha lands on Andhra Pradesh side

Saturday, 31 May 2014 - 7:35am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

Andhra Pradesh had 18 seats in the Rajya Sabha, and after the bifurcation into Telangana and Seemandhra, the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 provided that the existing Upper House MPs should be allocated to the two states through lottery, 11 for Seemandhra, seven for Telangana.

Rajya Sabha has meticulously followed the lottery method and it has come up the list of the seven Telangana MPs. Six of the seven are from Telangana -- V.Hanumantha Rao, Palvai Govardhan Reddy, Ananda Bhaskar Rapolu, and KVP Ramachandra Rao (all from Congress), and Gundu Sudha Rani, CM Ramesh and Garikipati Mohan Rao (Telugu Desam Party). The anomaly is that KVP Ramachandra Rao, a confidant of late YS Rajasekhara Reddy, who did not join the YSR Congress floated by his friend's family and stayed back with the Congress. Rao hails from Vijayawada in the Seemandhra region.

The irony is more pronounced in the case of the remaining 11 MPs allocated to Seemandhra. Prominent Telangana leader and member of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Keshava Rao has been allotted to Seemandhra. Rao was earlier with Congress and left the party in the row over delay in the decision. Renuka Choudhury of the Congress also belongs to the Andhra side but her lot fell with Telangana because she last represented Khammam in the Lok Sabha. But the lottery system has pushed her back to her state of nativity.

This embarrassment will have to be sorted in the next round of election.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content