Home »  News »  India

Lok Sabha polls: Voting underway in 11 states, battle for 91 seats

Thursday, 10 April 2014 - 9:48am IST | Agency: ANI

Voting for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections began on Thursday as candidates battle it out for 91 seats in 11 states.

Voting is underway in Chhattisgarh (1), Haryana (10), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Kerala (20), Madhya Pradesh (9), Maharashtra (10), Odisha (10), Uttar Pradesh (10), Bihar (6), Delhi (7), Andaman and Nicobar islands (1), Chandigarh (1) and Lakshadweep (1).

As many as 1419 candidates are contesting for the 91 seats. Key candidates contesting includes Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, Union Law Minister Kapil Sibal, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath, former Union Minister Ajay Maken and Sandeep Dikshit, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) VK Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Harsh Vardhan, and Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Shazia Ilmi, Yogendra Yadav, Ashutosh and Rakhi Birla.

The fight in Delhi will be mainly between the BJP, the Congress and the AAP. The elections in Delhi will decide fate for 150 candidates who have filed their nominations including 58 independents.

Major fight will be in Chandni Chowk constituency from where Law Minister Kapil Sibal, BJP's Harshvardhan and AAP's Ashutosh are contesting.

The polling started at 7am in the morning and will end at 6 p.m. in the evening. In Chhattisgarh's Bastar district, where polling is underway, voting will end at 3 p.m.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content