Home »  News »  India

Lok Sabha Elections: Amalapuram constituency to witness a close contest

Saturday, 3 May 2014 - 3:49pm IST | Agency: PTI

  • polling Amalapuram constituency to witness a close contest

The Amalapuram (SC) Lok Sabha constituency in coastal Andhra, which was once represented by former Lok Sabha Speaker GMC Balayogi, is witnessing a close contest among the candidates of TDP, YSRCP, Congress and the Jai Samaikyandhra Party of former Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Sitting MP GV Harsha Kumar, who was expelled by Congress for moving a no-confidence motion against the UPA government against the decision to form separate Telangana, is contesting on Jai Samaikyandhra Party (JSP) ticket in the elections scheduled to be held in Seemandhra on May 7.

Cultivation of paddy, coconut and fishing are the major occupations of this scenic region. Oil majors like ONGC, Oil India Limited and GSPC are involved in gas exploration activities in the KG basin situated close to it.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker late GMC Balayogi was elected from this constituency in 1998 and 1999 on TDP ticket before his death in a tragic chopper crash. The constituency is faced with problems of improper drainage system that results in damages to paddy crop when heavy rains occur.

The 'Delta modernization project' for the purpose has not been completed and the railway line between Kotipalli and Narsapur was not completed. YSRCP nominee for Lok Sabha P Viswaroop said the constituency would be developed on the lines of Kerala state.

As East Godavari district also produces coconut on a massive scale like Kerala does, he said the Kerala model would be studied and implemented. TDP candidate Ravindra Babu said he plans to develop East Godavari as a tourism hub as it is home to a number of temples, forests and other historical places.

Harsha Kumar, who won the seat in 2004 and 2009, expressed confidence over his victory saying that he would continue to work for people and their welfare. The Amalapuram Lok Sabha constituency comprises the assembly segments of Ramachandrapuram, Mummidivaram, Amalapuram, Razole, Gannavaram, Kothapeta and Mandapeta.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content