Home »  News »  India

INS Sindhurakshak fire: Indian Navy's active submarines at a glance

Wednesday, 14 August 2013 - 5:21pm IST | Place: Mumbai

In one of the worst tragedies in the history of Indian Navy, an explosion on board submarine INS Sindhurakshak killed several sailors and damaged another submarine INS Sindhuratna on Wednesday.

Indian Navy Submarines

Chakra Class

INS Chakra is a 8,140-tonne Akula class submarine, nuclear-powered attack submarine..The submarine was commissioned on 04 April, 2012.

Name Pennant No. Date of Commission
Chakra       S 71  04 Apr 2012


Sindhughosh Class
Sindhughosh class submarines are the Kilo class diesel-electric submarines. .They designated 877EKM, and were built under a contract between Rosvooruzhenie and the Ministry of Defence (India).

The submarines have a displacement of 3,000 tonnes, a maximum diving depth of 300 meters, top speed of 18 knots, and are able to operate solo for 45 days with a crew of 53.

Name Pennant No Date of Commission
Sindhugosh       S 55   30 Apr 1986
Sindhudhvaj         S 56 12 Jun 1987
Sindhuraj         S 57 20 Oct 1987
Sindhuvir          S 58 26 Aug 1988
Sindhuratna         S 59 22 Dec 1988
Sindhukesari          S 60 16 Feb 1989
Sindhukirti         S 61 04 Jan 1990
Sindhuvijay          S 62 08 Mar 1991
Sindhurakshak          S 63

24 Dec 1997

Sindhurashtra S 65 19 Jul 2000

 Indian Navy Submarines

Shishumar Class

The Shishumar class vessels (Type 1500) are diesel-electric submarines..These submarines are developed by the German yard Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft (HDW).The first two of these vessels were built by HDW at Kiel, while the remainder have been built at Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) Mumbai. The ships were commissioned between 1986 and 1994. These submarines have a displacement of 1660 tons when surfaced, a speed of 22 knots (41 km/h), and a complement of 40 including eight officers. The submarines has the provision of an IKL-designed escape system.

Pennant No. Date of Commissioning
Shishumar          S 44 22 Sep 1986
Shankush         S 45 20 Nov 1986
Shalki          S 46 07 Feb 1992
Shankul          S 47 28 May 1994

Jump to comments

Recommended Content