Home » India

Indore: Elaborate security arrangements for counting of votes

Friday, 6 December 2013 - 2:50pm IST | Place: Indore | Agency: DNA
There will four entrances for the election duty staff, media and the candidates.

With counting day coming closer, the district administration, police and the civic body has made elaborate arrangements at Nehru stadium. The counting of votes will be done on December 8.

Additional District Magistrate (ADM), Alok Singh, DIG, Rakesh Gupta and IMC Additional Commissioner, Manoj Pushp and Surendra Kumar Kathuria reviewed the arrangements on Thursday.

“As many as 500 police will be deployed to keep a close watch at three rounds of security arrangements including at barricades, internal and outer circles of the stadium. Besides, force will be deployed at sensitive areas to prevent any untoward situation” said DIG Rakesh Gupta.

He urged the people to maintain peace irrespective of any candidate’s win.

Entire vote counting process will be conducted under third eye’s observation as the district administration has erected CCTV camera at every table to ensure transparency. The video recordings of EVM machines’ display of votes could be seen at electronic display screen (TV Monitor) and its CD will be given to the district election officer.

The postal ballets will be counted before staring counting of EVM machines’ votes.

There will four entrances for the election duty staff, media and the candidates. Except senior officials concerned, no one could carry the mobile phones inside the stadium.

Gate A near SBI bank will be used by the election duty staff while the gate near Gymkhana will gave access to the election observers and other senior officials.

Vehicle passes will also be issued to these officials to park.

The gate B will give entry to media persons direct to the media room.

Candidates of Indore I, Indore 3, Mhow, Depalpur and Rau will get access from Mushtaq Ali gate while the candidates of Indore 2, Indore 4, Indore 5 and Sanwer will go inside from NCC gate. These candidates have been issued access cards painted in different colors.

“On every table, there will a micro observer, a supervisor and two assistance officers during the counting. Two tables will be erected for counting of each constituency and the same can be increased on consent of the returning officer and observer” said ADM Alok Singh.

The counting will be start from 8am. These officials will come to know about which constituency’s votes counting process will be conducted by them on Saturday.

After completing the process, the supervisor will have to especially mention the numbers of postal ballets before submitting the last report.

“Cleaning, drinking water and other arrangements have been made by IMC” said IMC additional commissioner, Surendra Kumar Kathuria.

Training for candidates agents
The agents of all the candidates contested election in 9 constituencies of the district will be given training regarding the vote counting process on Friday. Assistance district election officer Sharad Kshotriya said that training will be conducted at 3pm at DAVV’s auditorium situated on Khandwa Road Campus

December 8 will be Dry Day
The district administration has announced ‘Dry Day’ on vote counting day. As per the instructions issued to the excise department, all the country made and foreign liquor shops will be completely closed on December 8. Besides, no licensed bar, restaurant or club could be serve wine on the day. The step was taken as to prevent any untoward situation on the day

10 constituencies results simultaneously

On the instructions of the election commissioner, Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) has made special arrangements to announce the election results at as many as 10 places of the district. The results were announced at a same time at these places including Rajabada, Regal square, Chimanbagh square, Malwa Mill square, Dusehra Maidan, Bada Ganpati square near Sharada Girls HC School and Meghdut Park near Vijay Nagar police outpost. Besides, the election result will also make public at three rural areas including Mhow, Sanwer and Depalpur at the same time. The arrangements aim to facilitate the public for knowing the result

Jump to comments


Around the web