Home » India

India remembers martyrs of 2001 Parliament attack

Friday, 13 December 2013 - 1:05pm IST | Agency: ANI

Cutting across party lines, political leaders today paid homage to those who had lost their lives in the 2001 Parliament House terrorist attack.

Vice President M. Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley and several other leaders offered floral tributes to the martyrs at a solemn ceremony here

It was on this day in 2001, heavily armed-terrorists infiltrated the Parliament House and began firing their weapons during the time of Parliament session

Eleven persons including five policemen were killed during the attack. 

Jump to comments

Around the web