Home » India

IITians all set to take over capital governance

Saturday, 28 December 2013 - 12:37pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: DNA

As the new government takes charge in Delhi, heads have already started rolling in the Delhi secretariat. Arvind Kejriwal, who will be sworn-in as chief minister on Saturday, is likely to create his inner circle with officers who are former IITians.

In the rejig, Rajender Kumar, a 1989 batch IAS officer, who is now secretary, Information Technology and Higher Education, has been picked as the principal secretary to the chief minister.
Kumar is an IITian and is known to be a workaholic. Those who have worked with him say that he never calls it a day, before clearing his table. “He does not sit on a file and is very quick in decision making,” said one of the officers of the IT department who has worked with him for five years.

As Kumar takes office, MM Kutty, who was principal secretary to Sheila Dikshit, has now taken charge as finance secretary. The position was lying vacant for more than five months after Shakti Sinha took voluntary retirement from office. Kutty’s other portfolios including that of information and publicity, tourism and administrative reforms departments have been handed over to SS Yadav who is currently secretary-cum-commissioner (food and supplies).

South Delhi Municipal Commissioner Manish Gupta, who is also an IITian, is likely to move to the Delhi government. Gupta is known to be a tech-savvy and down to earth officer. “During the Baba Ramdev agitation at Ramlila Maidan, Gupta would choose to walk down from the venue to the municipal headquarters located about two kilometers away,” said another officer who has worked with him.

Piyush Gupta, another IITian who is currently working with the transport department of the Delhi government, is expected to move into the inner circles of the Kejriwal government.

Some officers who have already moved from office are Nila Mohanan, who was serving as additional secretary to Dikshit. Mohanan will now serve as deputy commissioner of south and south east district. Special Secretary PWD JB Singh will replace Mohanan.

Urban development secretary RK Srivastava has been transferred to Goa and would be replaced by Arun Goyal who was on deputation to the ministry of external affairs.  Mirnalini Darswal, who was serving as special commissioner trade and taxes, has been moved to the education department replacing Madhu Rani Teotia, who will now take over as director of mission convergence. Ganesh Bharti will take over as managing director at  Delhi Tourism & Transport Development Corporation.

Jump to comments


Around the web