Home »  News »  India

Grand swearing-in ceremony for Narendra Modi

Sunday, 23 December 2012 - 4:04pm IST | Place: Ahmedabad | Agency: dna

Besides the top brass of the BJP, leaders of key NDA allies likely to attend function on December 26.

A grand swearing-in ceremony is to be organised on December 26 at Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedbad where chief minister Narendra Modi will take oath of office. Besides Modi, those he may name as his cabinet ministers will also be sworn-in at the ceremony.

Top leaders of the BJP, including LK Advani and Arun Jaitley, as also leaders of key NDA allies, are likely to attend the function.

This year, Modi led the BJP to a comprehensive victory in the assembly elections for the third consecutive time during his 11 years as chief minister of Gujarat.

He was able to win despite the combined opposition of former BJP leader Keshubhai Patel’s Gujarat Parivaratan Party (GPP) and the Congress. This is the first time in the history of Gujarat that one person has taken oath as chief minister for three consecutive times.

BJP spokesperson IK Jadeja said that a day before the swearing-in ceremony on December 26, a meeting of the BJP legislature party will be held. All the 115 MLAs of the party will attend the meeting and elect leader of the BJP legislature party. Incidentally, the BJP has not yet announced the name of Modi as the chief minister.

Besides Advani and Jaitley, other top leaders of the saffron party including Nitin Gadkari and Venkaiah Naidu, and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states, are likely to be present at the function.

Key allies of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), including Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalitha, may also be present.
Modi’s previous oath-taking ceremonies were also attended by Advani, Jaitely, Akali Dal’s Prakashsingh Badal, J Jayalalitha of the AIADMK, and Manohar Joshi as representing the Shiv Sena.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content