Home »  News »  India

Exodus in Andhra Pradesh as nine MLCs join Telugu Desam Party

Sunday, 22 June 2014 - 6:40am IST Updated: Saturday, 21 June 2014 - 10:45pm IST | Place: Hyderabad | Agency: dna

To establish its domination in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) roped in as many as nine MLCs, including eight from the Congress, on Saturday. “Six Congress MLCs, two from YSRC Congress and one independent MLC have expressed their confidence in the leadership of Chandrababu Naidu as the only capable leader to rebuild the state after bifurcation,” said TDP trouble shooter and Rajya Sabha MP CM Ramesh.

The Congress MLCs to switch sides are Chaitanya Raju, Ravi Varma, Ailapuram Venkaiah, Shaik Hussain, Reddappa Reddy, Smt Indira, B Pullaiah and Gade Srinivasulu Naidu. The YSRC lost its spokesman Jupudi Prabhakar Rao to the TDP.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content