Home »  News »  India

Elections 2014 results: BJP leading in Uttar Pradesh in early trends

Friday, 16 May 2014 - 9:50am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

  • bjp BJP flag

Early trends in Uttar Pradesh show that the BJP was leading in four seats while the Congress and the Samajwadi Party were ahead in one seat each.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi was leading in Rae Bareli by a margin of over 1,200 votes over her nearest rival Ajay Aggarwal of the BJP. Firebrand BJP leader Uma Bharti was trailing in Jhansi by a margin of over 1,200 votes. Maneka Gandhi was leading in Pilibhit by a narrow margin of over 250 votes.

Former Union Minister Santosh Gangwar of the BJP was leading in Bareilly by a margin of over 5,000 votes over his Samajwadi Party rival Ayesha Islam. Apna Dal candidate Anupriya Patel is leading in Mirzapur over her nearest rival Samudra Bind of BSP by 6,500 votes.

In Sitapur, BSP candidate Kaisar Jahan is leading by 2,000 votes over BJP's Rajesh Verma. Sakshi Maharaj of BJP is leading in Unnao by 1,880 votes while RP Chaudhary (BSP) is leading in Basti seat by 298 votes. BSP's Ashok Kumar Rawat is leading in Misrikh and Chote Lal Kharwar of the same party is ahead in Robertsganj.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content