Home »  News »  India

Election Commission orders repoll on 8 polling stations in Gurgaon

Tuesday, 13 May 2014 - 7:09pm IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: PTI

The Election Commission today ordered repoll on eight polling stations falling under four different Assembly segments in the Gurgaon Parliamentary constituency.

Haryana Chief Electoral Officer Shrikant Walgad said here that polling at these stations would be held on May 15 from 7 am to 6 pm.

Walgad said the polling stations on which repolling would be held, included 126-Government Primary School, Bawala (left room) in Sohna Assembly Segment, 44-Govt Middle School, Rehna (left room), 46-Govt Primary School, Tapkan and 103-Govt Primary School.

Other polling stations are Majra Bhandgaka in Nuh Assembly Segment, 34-Govt Middle School, Banarashi, 101-Govt High School, Nimkhera and 166-Govt. Primary School, Shahpur in Firozpur Jhirka Assembly Segment and 90-Govt Middle School, Thek in Punhana Assembly segment, he said.

Reiterating its stand, the Aam Aadmi Party had yesterday asked the EC to conduct repolling at a few booths of the Gurgaon Parliamentary constituency.

The party had alleged vote rigging at a few booths.

In a letter to CEC V S Sampath, AAP senior leader Yogendra Yadav, who fought as party candidate from Gurgaon Lok Sabha seat, had submitted a "scientific analysis" of the polling station-wise turnout data which established that there was a cluster of booths "that recorded abnormally high turnout, upwards of 90 per cent or even 95 per cent..." The AAP party had complained about this abnormally high voting turnout here on April 10 Lok Sabha elections.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content