Home »  News »  India

Dynastic politics in BJP: 7 sons and daughters of the now ruling party

Wednesday, 21 May 2014 - 2:10pm IST | Agency: dna webdesk

  • poonam mahajan-chirag paswan-jayant sinha

The Prime Minister elect Narendra Modi in many of his rallies has called the outgoing government “maa-bete ki sarkaar” and also criticised it for practising dynastic politics. Even though this election saw many Congress MPs losing their seats, it also welcomed the victory of many sons and daughters of veteran BJP leaders.

Here are 7 BJP leaders having a political lineage who won this election

Dushyant Singh: Son of Rajasthan chief minister and former Union Minister Vasundhara Raje, he won the Jhalawar-Baran seat for the third time. He defeated Pramod Bhaya of the Congress by a whooping margin of 281546 votes. He is expected to receive a state ministerial rank in the new government.

Jayant Sinha: He is the son of former Minister of External Affairs and senior BJP leader Yashwant Sinha. In 2014, Yashwant Sinha made for his son in his home constituency of Hazaribagh in Jharkhand.

Abhishek Singh: Son of Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, he contested his first parliamentary election from the Rajnandgaon and is the youngest parliamentarian the state has ever had. He won this constituency with a record margin of 235911 votes. His father who contested this seat in 1999 won  by a margin of 26,715 which is almost eight times lesser than Abhishek's winning margin.

Poonam Mahajan: Daughter of  late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan, she won the Mumbai North-Central seat beating Congress' Priya Dutt who she lost to in 2009. This is the first time a BJP candidate has won this seat.

Parvesh Verma: Son of former Delhi Chief Minister Sahib Singh Verma he won the Lok Sabha Election from Delhi West constituency defeating AAP's Jarnail Singh by a margin of 268586 votes.

Rajbir Singh: Son of three time Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kalyan Singh, he won the seat of Etah in Uttar Pradesh. He defeated the Samajwadi party's Devendra Singh Yadav with a margin of 201001 votes.

Chirag Paswan: Son of the Lok Janshakti Party Ram Vilas Paswan & former Bollywood actor, he won the Jamui seat of Bihar defeating Sudhanshu Bhaskar of the Rashtriya Janata Dal by a whooping margin of 85947 votes.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content