Home »  News »  India

Congress has nowhere to go in Delhi

Saturday, 17 May 2014 - 7:00am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

They've lost everywhere, but in Delhi, the Congress has faced a clear rout. All its seven sitting MPs from the state, three of whom were cabinet ministers, lost to the BJP. The party got fewer votes even than the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which came second in all the seven seats .

Kapil Sibal, Ajay Maken and Krishna Tirath, all three two-time Congress MPs and cabinet ministers in the UPA government, lost by a huge margin. While Sibal and Maken lost by three lakh plus votes, Tirath lost by five lakh votes, the highest margin of loss among all the seven candidates.

Sandeep Dikshit, son of former three-time Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, also lost to first-timer Mahesh Giri of the BJP by over three lakh votes. Congress party leaders Jai Prakash Agarwal, Mahabal Mishra and Ramesh Kumra also lost by over two lakh votes.

"This result was definitely not anticipated by us. We accept our defeat," said Congress party Chief Spokesperson Ajay Maken.

This is the first time after 15 years that the BJP has made a comeback in all seven seats in Delhi. In 1999, too, the Congress had lost all seats, but in the next elections in 1999, it had reduced the BJP to one seat. In 2009, the Congress had bagged all seven seats.

Sources in the party also said that as a result of the complete wipe-out, the party would end up paying heavily in the Assembly elections that could be called to resolve the deadlock in the capital after the AAP government resigned. "The elections clearly indicate that the BJP is the leader and AAP the runner up. In the current scenario we will be completely wiped out," said a senior party leader. The Congress won in only eight of the 70 seats in the Delhi assembly election held in December 2013.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content