Home »  News »  India

Campaigning for Rajasthan's 2nd phase polling ends tomorrow

Monday, 21 April 2014 - 6:15pm IST | Agency: PTI

Campaigning for Rajasthan's second phase of polling to five Lok Sabha seats on April 24 will end at 5 PM tomorrow.

Congress's two Union ministers are in the fray. Union Minister of State for Finance Namo Narayan Meena is contesting election against his brother and former DGP H C Meena, who is a BJP candidate from Dausa.

Union Minister of State for Sports Jitendra Singh is pitted against BJP's Mahant Chandnath from Alwar.

Whereas former cricketer Mohd Azharuddin is facing BJP's Sukhbir Singh Jaunpuria from Sawaimadhopur-Tonk constituency.

More than 80.79 lakh electorate are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect five MPs out of 81 contestants from Dausa, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur and Sawaimadhopur Lok Sabha constituencies on April 24 from 7 am to 6 pm, a Chief Electoral Officer's PRO said today.

Congress, BJP and BSP have fielded five candidates each, while there were 20 Independents and 37 nominees of other parties.

Altogether 9,112 polling stations, including 2,667 critical polling stations, have been set up in the five constituencies.

Over 45,000 security personnel, including central forces, were being deployed to ensure free and fair polls on these seats, DGP (Law and Order) Navdeep Singh told PTI.

Polling in 20 of Rajasthan's 25 seats was held on April 17.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content