Home »  News »  India

BS Yeddyurappa resigns from MLA post

Monday, 26 May 2014 - 8:45am IST | Place: Bangalore | Agency: dna

After elected as a member of parliament from Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency, the former chief minister and a senior BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa has resigned from the MLA post on Monday.

During the 2013 assembly election Yeddyurappa was contested as Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) candidate from Shikaripura constituency and won it. Later, he rejoined the BJP and praised the BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi.

Then, Yeddyurappa urged the party to work towards winning more than 19 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka to help Modi to become Prime Minister. To supporting Modi, he contested the Lok Sabha election from Shimoga constituency against JDS's Geetha Shivarajkumar and won by the highest margin of 3.63 lakh votes in the state.

After resigning from MLA post, Yeddyurappa has decided to say goodbye to more than four decades of his state politics and entering into the national arena. Meanwhile, Speaker Kagodu Thimmappa accepted Yeddyurappa's resignation.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content