Home »  News »  India

Brisk voting on in Uttar Pradesh's 15 seats till 3pm

Wednesday, 7 May 2014 - 4:46pm IST | Agency: PTI

Brisk polling was on today in the fifth phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh as 44.22 per cent voters cast their ballots for 15 seats which will decide the fate of 243 candidates, including Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and BJP's Varun Gandhi.

In Amethi, where Rahul Gandhi is contesting, 43 per cent polling has been recorded so far whereas in neighboring Sultanpur from where Rahul's cousin Varun is contesting, 45.60 per cent voters have cast their votes.

The other prominent candidates contesting from Amethi include TV actress-turned-politician and BJP nominee Smriti Irani and Aam Admi Party's Kumar Vishwas.

In Pratapgarh 40.4 per cent, while in Faizabad 47 per cent, Gonda 40.2 per cent, Kaushambi 43.2 per cent, Phulpur 42.6 per cent votes were cast.

Allahabad recorded 42.8 per cent voter turnout whereas, Ambedkarnagar 47.4 per cent, Bahraich 45.6 per cent, Kaisarganj 45.8 per cent, Shravasti 44 per cent, Basti 47.86 per cent, Sant Kabir Nagar 44.4 and Bhadohi 43.4 per cent.

Highest turnout was reported from Basti with 47.86 per cent votes.

More than 2.6 crore electorate, including 1.19 crore female, are expected to exercise their franchise in this phase.

While 34 candidates are in the fray from Amethi, 10 candidates are contesting from Bahraich constituency.

Of the 25,085 polling centres, 3,715 has been identified as critical.

In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, poll percentage in these seats was 43.37 per cent.

Complaints of EVM malfunction were received from nearly eight booths in Bhadohi and five booths in Bahraich which saw delay in voting process.

In Bhadohi, polling was temporarily stopped in Bhadohi, Gyanpur, Aura and Handia for nearly half an hour and began only when faulty machines were replaced by the District Electoral Officer.

A booth level officer was replaced in Bhadohi for allegedly distributing slips in favour of a particular candidate.

In Pratapgarh's Kandhai and Madhupur area, some people were not allowed to vote as their names were not in the list.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content