Home »  News »  India

BJP's Shahnawaz Hussain loses to RJD candidate Shailesh Kumar

Friday, 16 May 2014 - 7:48pm IST | Place: Patna | Agency: IANS

The BJP's lone Muslim member of the Lok Sabha, Shahnawaz Hussain has lost from the Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency in Bihar.

Hussain was defeated by Rashtriya Janata Dal's Shailesh Kumar by around 9,000 votes.

The BJP-led NDA is heading for a big victory in 31 of 40 Lok Sabha seats from Bihar.

Hussain won from the seat in 2009 and in the 2006 by-poll.

He earlier won from Kishanganj, a Muslim dominated seat in Bihar, in 1999.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content