Home »  News »  India

BJP clean sweeps all 7 seats in Delhi

Friday, 16 May 2014 - 11:11am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: dna webdesk

The seven seats from Delhi have been completely taken over by the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP has left no seat for the Indian National Congress who won all seven seats in the previous election and the newly emerged Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) which was a big hit in territory the earlier.

 The seat from Chandni Chowk has been allotted to BJP’s Harsh Vardhan who was contesting against Congress’ Kapil Sibal. While Meenakshi Lekhi won the seat in New Delhi beating Ashish Khetan from AAP and Ajay Maken from Congress. The North West Delhi seat has been taken over by Udit Raj defeating AAP’s Rakhi Birla and Congress’ Krishna Tirath.

North East Delhi’s seat will be held by former actor Manoj Tiwari who had been contesting against Congress candidate Jai Prakash Aggarwal and AAP candidate Anand Kumar. Pravesh Verma will be holding the seat from West Delhi beating Jarnail Singh from AAP and and Mahabal Mishra from the Congress. East Delhi’s seat has been taken over by Mahesh Giri leaving behind AAP’s Rajmohan Gandhi and Congress’ Sandeep Dikshit. And the last seat also goes to BJP as the party’s candidate Ramesh Bidhuri won it defeating Congress’ Ramesh Kumar and AAP’s Devender Sehrawat.


Jump to comments

Recommended Content