Home »  News »  India

Arvind Kejriwal all set to take over as 7th CM of Delhi

Monday, 23 December 2013 - 11:19pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

Prakash was succeeded by party colleague G N Singh who was the chief minister till 1956.

Debutant MLA Arvind Kejriwal is all set to take over as the seventh Chief Minister of Delhi, after ousting Congress's three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit in the recently held Assembly elections.

After he takes oath of office, Kejriwal will be the youngest Chief Minister of Delhi at 45 years of age, while his predecessor Dikshit will take the crown of India's longest serving woman chief minister so far.

The Delhi State Legislative Assembly had come into being on March 7, 1952 with Congress leader Ch Braham Prakash heading the council of Ministers. He had remained in the office till 1955. The 1952 Assembly consisted of 48 members.

Prakash was succeeded by party colleague G N Singh who was the chief minister till 1956.

However, the Delhi state ceased to exist from 1956 to 1993 and became a Union Territory and governed under President's Rule.

In 1993, when elections were again held, BJP took the reign with Madan Lal Khurana as the Chief Minister.

During the five-year term, Khurana held the office for three years till 1996 and succeedded by party colleagues Sahib Singh Verma (1996-1998) and Sushma Swaraj, who was in office for just over a month, when elections were held.

Between 1998 and 2013, Dikshit became Chief Minister thrice with Congress forming the government each time.

In Assembly Elections held in December this year, BJP has emerged as the single largest party in Delhi Assembly polls with 31 seats but fell short of a majority, and declined to form a government.

Following this Lt Governor Najeeb Jung had invited AAP, the second largest party with 28 MLAs, for discussions on government formation.

Congress had won just eight seats.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content