Home »  News »  India

All Gujarat ministers to attend Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony

Sunday, 25 May 2014 - 9:47pm IST | Place: Gandhinagar | Agency: PTI

All 21 ministers of the newly formed Anandiben Patel-led Gujarat BJP government, along with office bearers of the BJP's Gujarat unit will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi on Monday at Delhi.

"All 21 cabinet and state rank ministers including Gujarat Chief Minister (Anandiben Patel) are going to attend the swearing-in ceremony of the country's next prime minister Narendra Modi," Gujarat government spokesperson and minister Saurabh Patel told PTI.

Patel, who holds key portfolios of finance and petrochemicals, also said that office bearers of Gujarat's BJP unit would attend the swearing-in ceremony to be held in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi.

BJP's media convener Harshad Patel said that Gujarat state ministers would be accompanied by state office bearers and district presidents of the BJP. The total head count may reach up to 50.

Gujarat government's cabinet rank ministers like Nitin Patel, Raman Vora, Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, Saurabh Patel, Ganpat Vasava and Babu Bokharia will attend the ceremony of the country's next prime minister.

However, Narendra Modi's family has decided to watch the swearing-in ceremony on television, rather than to go to the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

"None of us (family members) are going to attend the swearing-in ceremony. We have decided to watch him (Narendra Modi) taking oath as prime minister on TV," Modi's younger brother Prahlad Modi told PTI.

A tea vendor, Kiran Mahida, who proposed Narendra Modi's name when the latter filed his nomination papers from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, is likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content