Home »  News »  India

All aboard: Narendra Modi sarkar tactfully balances allies, states

Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 7:25am IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: dna

Narendra Modi seems to have rewarded Uttar Pradesh for giving the biggest chunk of 71 of the 80 seats by including eight ministers from the state in his council of ministers. Rajasthan, which delivered all its 25 seats to the BJP, got meagre representation in the first list. Only one — Nihal Chand Meghwal has got representation — and that too as Minister of State.

The first sign of a rebellion in the BJP has come with reports saying that Rajasthan chief minister Vasundhara Raje was meeting her 25 MPs to discuss the situation.

Of the UP brigade, four — Rajnath Singh, Kalraj Mishra, Maneka Gandhi and Uma Bharti — find a place in the Union cabinet. Its four ministers of state are General VK Singh, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Manoj Sinha and Sanjeev Baliyan.

Madhya Pradesh, on the other hand, that put 27 seats in the BJP's kitty, losing just two to the Congress, has been handsomely rewarded: the State will be represented by four Cabinet Ministers – Sushma Swaraj, Narendra Singh Tomar and Thawar Chand Gehlot (all Lok Sabha) and Najma Heptullah (from the Rajya Sabha). Chhattisgarh is also represented by a MoS — Vasudev Sai

The BJP-Lok Janshakti Party-Rashtriya Lok Samata Party alliance in Bihar won 23 of the 40 seats in the State: it will now have three Cabinet Ministers — Ravi Shankar Prasad (RS), Radha Mohan Singh and Ram Vilas Paswan (LJP). There is also one MoS from Bihar, Upendra Kushwaha from the RLSP.

Of the states that will go to the polls later this year, Modi has paid special attention to Maharashtra, where the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance won 42 of the 48 seats. There are three Cabinet Ministers — Nitin Gadkari, Gopinath Munde and Anant Geete and three MoS — Rao Saheb Danwe Patil (LS), Piyush Goel (RS) and Prakash Jawdekar, who will have to be brought in through the Rajya Sabha.

Shiv Sena openly criticised its share in the Union Council of Ministers, with senior party leader Manohar Joshi saying the party had expected three ministers. Another ally, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) got a representation in the Cabinet with a berth for Harsimrat Kaur Badal.

The BJP won seven of the 10 seats in Haryana, another state that will go the polls later this year. Two of the winners, Krishan Pal Gujjar and Rao Inderjit Singh (who crossed over from the Congress a few months before the elections), have been accommodated in the Cabinet as MoS.

Another election-going state, Jammu and Kashmir, will be represented by one of the three BJP MPs elected from here — Jitendra Singh, who won the Udhampur seat, is a MoS. Delhi, that may soon go to polls, got a berth for one of its seven MPs Dr Harsh Vardhan.

Gujarat will be represented by two Rajya Sabha MPs in the Union Cabinet — Arun Jaitley and Smriti Irani while one LS MP Mansukhbhai D Vasava will be a MoS.

Rajnath Singh, 63, Home
2. Arun Jaitley, 62, Defence and finance
3. Nitin Gadkari, 56, Surface Transport and Shipping
4. Sushma Swaraj, 62, External Affairs
5. Venkaiah Naidu, 65, Urban Development
6. DV Sadananda Gowda, 61, Railways
7. Uma Bharti, 55, Water Resources and Ganga Cleaning
8. Najma Heptullah, 74, Minorities
9. Gopinath Munde, 64,
10. Ananth Kumar, 54, Parliamentary Affairs
11. Kalraj Mishra, 73,
12. Smriti Irani, 38, HRD
13. Ravi Shankar Prasad, 59, Telecom, law and justice
14. Maneka Gandhi, 57, Women and Child Development
15. Ramvilas Paswan, 67, (LJP)
16. Harsimrat Kaur Badal, 47 (SAD)
17. Anant Geete, 62, (Shiv Sena)
18. Narendra Singh Tomar, 56
19. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, 62, (TDP)
20. Jual Oram, 53
21. Dr. Harshvardhan, 59
22. Radha Mohan Singh, 64
23. Thawar Chand Gehlot, 66

Jump to comments

Recommended Content