Home »  News »  India

After 4 decades, Andhra Pradesh comes under president's rule again

Saturday, 1 March 2014 - 6:00am IST | Place: Hyderabad | Agency: dna

A week after Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Andhra Pradesh chief minister, the Centre on Friday decided to impose president's rule in the state while announcing a few sops for the Seemandhra region which has been opposing creation of Telangana state. The Union cabinet also decided to place under suspended animation the Andhra Pradesh assembly whose term is slated to end on June two.

The first president's rule was imposed in the then Andhra state between November 15, 1954 to March 29, 1955. Later , after the formation of Andhra Pradesh in 1956 and during the heat of Mulki agitation (Jai Andhra Agitation), chief minister PV Narsimha Rao who belong to Telangana had to resign. So on January 17,1973 the president's rule was imposed till December 10 of the same year.

Meanwhile, Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy, who will be listed in history as the last chief minister of an "undivided" Andhra Pradesh, is likely to drop his plans to float a new political party.

"Since there has been no official word about the possible launch of the new party, there will not be any official announcement about shelving his plans," an expelled Congress MP in Kiran's camp said here today.

It was widely expected that Reddy, along with six MPs expelled from the Congress, would announce the launch of a new political party in Seemandhra on a "united" Andhra Pradesh platform on March 2, but the idea has now been shelved.

— With Agency inputs

Jump to comments

Recommended Content