Home »  News »  India

18% polling till 10am in Bihar

Monday, 12 May 2014 - 11:14am IST | Place: Patna | Agency: PTI

  • bihar-registers-18%-voter-turnout Representational Images

About 18% polling was recorded till 10 AM in six constituencies in the last of the six-phase Lok Sabha election in Bihar.

While Valmikinagar, West Champaran and Siwan recorded 16% votes, East Champaran recorded 15%, Vaishali 23% and Gopalganj (SC) 20% votes respectively, an Election Commission statement said.

There was no report of any untoward incident.

Complaints of problems in EVMs were reported from some booths in Gopalganj, East Champaran and elsewhere, the statement said.

Film-maker Prakash Jha and former Union minister Raghubansh Prasad Singh are among the 90 candidates in the fray from the six seats of Bihar witnessing voting today.

Elaborate security arrangement was in place with 58,000 security personnel on duty.

The Election Commission reduced the duration of polling by two hours in five assembly segments in view of perceived Maoist threat. 

Jump to comments

Recommended Content