Home »  News »  India

As it happened: Narendra Modi sworn-in as Gujarat chief minister

Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 10:15am IST Updated: Wednesday, 26 December 2012 - 10:33am IST | Agency: dnaAgencies

Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi, who returned to power in assembly elections for a third time, will be sworn in today at around 11 am in a grand ceremony

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:14 IST

Modi will attend the National Development Council meeting in Delhi tomorrow, which he had announced in his victory speech.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:15 IST

Heavy security arrangements have been made at the Sardar Patel Stadium where Modi will be sworn in as chief minister

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:17 IST

Yesterday, Modi was unanimously elected the leader of Gujarat BJP legislature party.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:26 IST

Top BJP leaders to attend ceremony

"Top BJP leaders, including LK Advani, Nitin Gadkari, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu will be present for the swearing-in ceremony of Chief Minister Narendra Modi," Gujarat BJP spokesperson IK Jadeja had earlier said.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:30 IST

Raj Thackeray and family to attend swearing in
BJP’s Hindutva posterboy, MNS chief Raj Thackeray will also attend the function. Thackeray, wife Sharmila and son Amit left for Ahmedabad on Wednesday morning.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:32 IST

Jayalalithaa to also come in
Tamil Nadu chief minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa is among the non-BJP chief ministers who will attend the ceremony.

Modi, who maintains a good rapport with the AIADMK chief, attended her swearing-in ceremony after her party swept back to power in Assembly election in Tamil Nadu last year.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:44 IST

Modi will be administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Kamala Beniwal

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 10:49 IST

Vivek Oberoi also present
Vivek Oberoi can aso be seen at the event

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 11:01 IST

Modi sworn in
Narendra Modi took the oath in Gujarati.

He is now signing the papers.

Click here to read the details

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 11:53 IST

Sahara India Pariwar chairman Subrata Roy was seen at the event.

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 12:34 IST

Jump to comments

Recommended Content