Directors worth Rs100 crore!

Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 8:49am IST | Place: Mumbai | Agency: dna

The Zee Cine Awards introduced a new category to honour films crossing the aspirational box-office mark

The year 2012 proved to be a remarkable one for Bollywood. The landmark year not only saw a rise in the number of films winning critical acclaim, but was also declared a successful one commercially. In fact, 2012 saw Indian cinema create a history of sorts with as many as nine Hindi films entering the aspirational Rs100-crore club, which seems to have become a new benchmark of success in B-Town.

In this, Salman Khan bettered his own record set by Bodyguard as his Ek Tha Tiger entered the Rs100-crore club just within five days of release.

Filmmakers and distributors too are known to leave no stone unturned in their attempt to cross over to the right side of the much-coveted figure, say industry observers. And to recognise the importance of this coveted club and honour the entrants, the Zee Cine Awards 2013 introduced a new award, The Power Club Box Office. Winning this prestigious honour were nine directors whose films crossed the Rs100-crore mark.

Bollywood star Priyanka Chopra — who herself is a part of two Rs100-crore films this year, Agneepath and Barfi! — handed out the trophies. Arbaaz Khan (Dabangg 2), Sajid Khan (Housefull 2), Kabir Khan (Ek Tha Tiger), Rohit Shetty (Bol Bachchan), Ashwini Dhir (Son of Sardaar), Karan Malhotra (Agneepath), Anurag Basu (Barfi!) and Prabhudeva (Rowdy Rathore) were recipients of this award. Late filmmaker Yash Chopra was posthumously awarded for his Shah Rukh Khan-starrer Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

Filmmaker Anurag Basu shared with the audience the tip given by producer Ronnie Screwvala. According to Anurag, Ronnie said: "No matter how many awards we win, keep getting this Rs100-crore trophy back every year!" This had everyone in the audience in splits!

(To catch all the golden moments and more watch the
Zee Cine Awards on Zee TV today at 8 pm. Also catch all the Red Carpet action today at 7.30 pm)

Jump to comments

Recommended Content