Home » Delhi

Rajnath Singh credits Narendra Modi and CM candidates for BJP huge win

Monday, 9 December 2013 - 7:08pm IST | Agency: DNA

Basking in the glory of sterling performance in three states and first position in Delhi, BJP President Rajnath Singh has credited the chief ministerial candidates and prime ministerial candidate for 2014 elections Narendra Modi for the spectacular performance of the party in assembly elections.

 “We got maximum benefit of our prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi’s popularity. The public has given an indication of 2014 thorough these results in four states,” said Rajnath Singh adding that he wants to clarify that the contribution of chief ministerial candidates in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Delhi also played an important role. 

Parrying questions, Singh said that unlike the usual anti-incumbency factor that generally works in states that have same party’s government for two consecutive terms, the BJP enjoyed pro-incumbency wave in MP and Chhattisgarh.

 “The government in MP and Chhattisgarh performed good governance and public approved with a thumping majority….In Rajasthan the Congress falsely tried to project it as a model of development but the public understood it and voted them out of power,” he said.

Singh, however, agreed that in Delhi elections the maximum benefit for anti-incumbency vote was received by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

While he was non-committal to say if the BJP would ask AAP to lend support to the form government in Delhi, party sources indicated that they are chances of winning over some Congress candidates by luring them for minister ship and even Speaker’s post.

While the choice of chief ministers is clear in all the three states, BJP has made Sushma Swaraj, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Ananth Kumar observers for Madhya Pradesh, Venkaiah Naidu, J D Nadda and Dharmesh Pradhan for Chhattisgarh and Arun Jaitely and Amit Shah for Rajasthan and Nitin Gadkari for Delhi.

Jump to comments

Around the web