President medal for 18 Gujarat cops

Sunday, 26 January 2014 - 1:13pm IST | Place: Ahmedabad | Agency: DNA
Awardees include an ACP, nine others from Ahmedabad city & district police.

As many as 18 personnel from the state police will be awarded with the President’s medal for exemplary and meritorious service. The awards are given every year on the Republic Day. Of the 18, at least 10 cops are from the city and district police.

In a statement issued by the Gujarat state director general of police (DGP) office on Saturday, one deputy superintendent of police (DySP), one assistant CP (ACP), three police inspectors (PIs), four police sub-inspectors (PSIs), three ASIs, and five police head constables (PHCs) from the state have been announced as recipients of the honour.

Among them, Ankleshwar division DySP of Bharuch police, SS Bareth is the sole recipient of the President’s medal for exemplary service.

The 10 cops from Ahmedabad city and district police to be feted for meritorious service include ‘K’ division ACP of Ahmedabad city, JT Rana. PIs to be awarded include KT Kamariya (ACB), BM Desai (commissionerate) and PC Valera (wireless, Gandhinagar).

PSIs to receive the award include JJ Parmar, PD Zala, CA Shah and BN Shah. ASIs NB Luhar, HA Luhar, KV Sherathia as well as PHCs AS Jadeja, JG Chavda, PS Moghe, HH Champavat, RG Mir and JM Rohit will also be awarded with the President’s medal.

DGP PC Thakur congratulated all the men selected for the honour and commended their efforts for being selected for the same, the statement said.

Jump to comments


Around the web