Home »  News »  India »  Ahmedabad

Election Commission's notification for Phase 2

Saturday, 24 November 2012 - 1:57pm IST | Place: Gandhinagar

Ninety-five of the 182 constituencies will go to polls on December 17.

Election Commission of India (EC) on Friday issued notification for second phase of assembly elections for 95 constituencies, where polling will take place on December 17.

“With this, process for holding elections in 95 assembly constituencies has been formally kicked off,” said Anita Karwal, chief electoral officer for Gujarat.

Sixteen assembly constituencies of Ahmedabad City, five seats of Gandhinagar district and 13 seats of Vadodara district are among the 95 seats that will go to polls in the second phase. Election for seats in Banaskantha, Mehsana, Sabarkantha, Anand, Kheda, Panchmahals, Dahod, Kutch and Patan will also take place on December 17.

With issuance of the notification, candidates can now file nominations for the second phase of elections. Last date for making nominations is November 30. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on December 1, while candidatures can be withdrawn till December 3.

A total of 1.97 crore voters will exercise their franchise at 23,318 polling booths in the second phase of elections.

Jump to comments

Recommended Content